Skip to main content

Stephen Heyneman

Professor Emeritus of International Education Policy, Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations

Research Area

Research interests include the contribution of education to social cohesion, education and corruption, trade issues associated with education commerce, comparisons in reform of higher education finance and management, issues of examinations and standardized testing, policy shifts in vocational and technical education, education financing and educational quality, economic choices of educational technologies, and cognitive skills and economic development. All his interests include international questions. On some questions, his concentration is on Europe; in others his concentration pertains to the Middle East and North Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, East Asia and the Pacific, South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, or Eastern and Central Europe and the Newly Independent States.

Short Biography

Stephen P. Heyneman received his doctoral degree in comparative education from the University of Chicago in 1976. He served the World Bank for 22 years. Between 1976 and 1984 he helped research education quality and design policies to support educational effectiveness. Between 1984 and 1989 he was in charge of external training for senior officials world wide in education policy. And between 1989 and 1998, he was responsible for education policy and lending strategy, first for the Middle East and North Africa and later for the 27 countries of Europe and Central Asia. In July, 2000 he was appointed professor of International Education Policy at Vanderbilt University. Current interests include the effect of higher education on social cohesion, the international trade in education services and the economic and social cost to higher education corruption.

Countries of Experience

USA, U.K., Norway, Sweden, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan, Portugal, Finland, Australia, People's Republic of China, Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Pakistan, Brazil, Chile, Bolivia, Guatemala, El Salvador, Malawi, Tanzania, Somalia, Nicaragua, Ethiopia, Swaziland, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Kenya, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Zambia, Hungary, Russian Federation, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Romania, Iran, Egypt, Tunisia, Slovakia, Croatia, Sri Lanka, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Kyrgyzstan, Bulgaria, Serbia, and Ukraine.