Skip to main content

Joseph Murphy

Professor of Education, Emeritus, Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations

Joseph Murphy is an Emeritus Professor of Education and the former Frank W. Mayborn Chair of Education at Peabody College. He has also been a faculty member at the University of Illinois and The Ohio State University, where he was the William Ray Flesher Professor of Education.

In the public schools, he has served as an administrator at the school, district, and state levels. His most recent appointment was as the founding President of the Ohio Principals Leadership Academy. He is a past Vice President and a Fellow of AERA.

His work is in the area of school improvement, with special emphasis on leadership and policy. He has authored or co-authored 25 books in this area and edited another 12. He has an h index of 65, an i 10 index of 178, and his work has been cited over 15,000 times in the research literature.

Murphy was the Founding Chair of the Interstate School Leaders Licensure Consortium. He also chaired the teams that produced revisions to the national Standards in 2008 and 2015 (Professional Standards for Educational Leaders). He led the team that developed the specifications with ETS for the School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA). He is also one of the four co-creators of the Vanderbilt Assessment of Leadership in Education (VAL-ED).