Skip to main content
Decorative Header Image

Peabody Class of 2021 Commencement

Peabody College is excited to honor its 2021 graduates May 13-May 16. 

All graduates and guests are invited to participate in Vanderbilt’s Virtual Graduates Day celebration at 11:00 A.M CDT on Friday, May 14, with special guest Dr. Anthony Fauci. Register here.

On Saturday, May 15, the Undergraduate Commencement ceremony will take place at 9:00 A.M. in Vanderbilt Stadium.

Peabody will honor its M.Ed., M.P.P., and Ed.D. graduates at a ceremony Sunday, May 16, at 3:00 P.M. in Vanderbilt Stadium.

Comprehensive Commencement information for the Class of 2021 is available here.

The Peabody Commencement Awards Ceremonies take place on Thursday, May 13, by invitation.

Share the joy Commencement weekend at #Peabody2021 and @vupeabody.

Peabody Professional Ceremony Program

Sunday, May 16, 3:00 P.M.
Vanderbilt Stadium
Professional Student Awarding of Degrees

View a PDF of the ceremony program here.

Graduates must check in at Memorial Gym and be in their seats by 2:45 P.M.



Please stand during the procession of the platform party.

Camilla P. Benbow
Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development

Andrew J. Finch
Professor of the Practice of Human and Organizational Development

Sharon L. Shields
Senior Associate Dean, Student Empowerment, Engagement, and Development

Amanda P. Goodwin
Associate Professor of Language, Literacy, and Culture 

Catherine Gavin Loss
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professional Education

Candice Lee
Peabody College Distinguished Alumna


Master of Education
Master of Public Policy
Doctor of Education

Names of the graduates will be called and will appear in the Vanderbilt Commencement program.


Welcoming Remarks, Dean Camilla P. Benbow

Recognition of Peabody Distinguished Alumna

Address to the Graduates, Vice Chancellor Candice Lee

Conferral of Degrees and Hooding of Doctoral Candidates

Concluding Remarks


For information on livestreaming and recordings of the ceremony, please visit

Please silence all cell phones during the program.

Candice S. Lee
Peabody Distinguished Alumna

Candice Lee

Candice Storey Lee, a former standout student-athlete and three-time Vanderbilt University graduate, is Vanderbilt’s vice chancellor for athletics and university affairs and athletic director. She is Vanderbilt’s first female athletic director and the first African American woman to head a Southeastern Conference athletics program. Lee has served as an integral leader at the university and in Athletics for two decades. She previously served as deputy athletic director, a role she was appointed to in 2016.

In her current role, Lee works with the Vanderbilt Athletics leadership team and coaching staff and collaborates directly with the chancellor to implement the university’s Strategic Plan for Athletics, which outlines Vanderbilt’s vision for developing the best student-athlete experience in college athletics. In March, under her leadership, Vanderbilt launched the Vandy United Fund, an ambitious $300 million fundraising initiative for athletics facilities and operational enhancements. 

Lee has long been recognized as a star in college athletics and was named to Sports Business Journal’s “Power Players: College Sports” list in 2019—distinguishing her as one of “the best thinkers, problem-solvers and dealmakers in college sports” and as someone who “will play a distinctly important role in its future.”

A former varsity basketball player, Lee earned all three of her Vanderbilt degrees at Peabody College, including a B.S. in human and organizational development, M.Ed. in human development counseling, and her Ed.D. in higher education leadership and policy. In addition to her leadership in Vanderbilt sports, Lee also has been a powerful advocate for women’s and racial equity in athletics.

Read the full text of the news release here.


2019      Shaiza Rizavi
2018      Laura Chauvin
2017      Mel Chin
2016      Lenora Peters Grant
2015      Shirley M Collado
2014      Jerry S. Parr
2013      Robert H. Bruininks
2012      Donald J. Stedman
2010      Tommie Morton-Young
2009      William E. Troutt
2008      Terry B. Grier
2007      Melvyn I. Semmel
2006      Christopher Jeffrey Barbic
2005      Arthur Jerry Benson
2004      O.L. Davis
2003      Harold Dean Propst
2002      Chong Moon Lee
2001      Rune Simeonsson
2000      Imogene Forte
               Logan Wright
1999      Charles Allen
1998      Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola
1997      Tipper Gore
1996      Hal Ramer
1995      Diane Becker
1994      Howard Warf
1993      Charles Smith
1992      Jack Allen
1991      Walter Washington
1990      Young Shik Kim
1989      Alfred Baumeister
1988      Natalie Barraga
1987      E. Bruce Heilman
1986      Phillip Bacon
1985      William M. Alexander
1984      Susan Gray
1983      Christine Coe
1982      Edward Boling